# MINUTES FRIENDS OF THE LIBRARIES OF TOWNS COUNTY BOARD MEETING December 12, 2022

## I. Call to Order

President Mary Welken called the meeting to order at 1:10 p.m. at Sharp Memorial United Methodist Church, Young Harris, GA.

Board members present were: Marcia Aunspaugh, Marlene Cannon, Suzanne Carter, Kathy Day, Barbara Hale, Judith Lee, Jim Reynolds, Elaine Roberts, Gigi Smith, Delores Staton, and Mary Welken.

Board members not present: Rose Carter and Darlene Pilcher.

## II. President's Report

President Welken welcomed everyone. This was a special event as the December meeting was preceded by a luncheon to celebrate the 26<sup>th</sup> anniversary of the founding of the Friends of the Libraries of Towns County. A presentation of the history of FOLTC by Doris Tilly, Founding President of FOLTC, was given. Entertainment was provided by the Sharp Tones of Sharp Memorial United Methodist Church. Luncheon followed, catered by Janice Taylor. In attendance were Friends, honored guests including past presidents, past directors of MRLS, past branch managers, and current FOLTC board members, totaling 29 attendees.

#### III. Minutes

The minutes of the October, 2022 board meeting were presented by Kathy Day. Jim Reynolds moved that the minutes be accepted; motion was seconded by Marcia Aunspaugh; passed unanimously.

### IV. Treasurer's Report

Jim Reynolds had provided the Treasurer's Report for the period of January 1, 2022 to November 30, 2022 prior to the meeting via email. Beginning balance was \$26,729.23. Total income to date was \$9,591.04. Total expenses from July 23-November 30, 2022 were \$25.69. Total expenditures for 2022 were \$14,519.13. The balance as of November 30, 2022 is \$21,801.14, with encumbered funds of \$5,000.00, and with unencumbered funds of \$16,801.14. The financial report was accepted

#### V. Reports

No other reports were presented.

# VI. Election of Officers

President Mary Welken presented the following slate of officers for 2023:

President - Mary Welken

Vice President - Rose Mary Crook

Recording Secretary - Kathy Day

<u>Treasurer</u> – Jim Reynolds

Corresponding Secretary – Judith Lee

There were no nominations from the floor. Barbara Hale moved the slate be accepted by acclamation. Suzanne Carter seconded the motion. A vote was called and the officers were unanimously elected.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:20 p.m. by President Mary Welken.

Respectfully submitted by Kathy Day, Recording Secretary

APPROVED February 14, 2023